Broseph final thoughts

A month have passed since Joseph closed. New friends were made with the hopes that it won't be another year before we possibly could see each other again. I could write a bunch of cliche things about how the lights have faded from the stage andthe makeup has worn off, and it is mostly true. I would like to believe I will do more theatrical endeavors this fall but chances are slim. I will, however, always have the memories. 
One memory in particular happened a few weeks before we moved into the theatre. All of the brothers got together with Jeremy, our directory, for a night of bonding, junk food, and character work. Getting 12 guys together in itself usually spells insanity; 12 theatrical guys is a perfect storm. I knew it was going to be a great night when we decided to start playing indoor softball. The evening ended with the brothers sitting down and hammering out importent character details. Even though few of us  had any solo moments, by building character traits and motivation we give ourselves a basis to perform the entire show. I realized as we went along this was not that unlike building a character in a RPG, so I kept that in my mind as I filled out descriptions. I had done some historical reading on my character, Gad, and was trying to use that as a basis myself. One of the things I had noted was Gad was describe as having great strength. Using this I defined myself as a fighter/warrior. Typically I play a more roguish character so this was very out of line for me, but I felt it was a powerful aid in pushing me past my limits. 

Leave a comment